News & Events

Jaipur Literature Festival announces impressive second tranche of speakers

Jaipur Literature Festival

List includes celebrated culinary expert Madhur Jaffrey, Pulitzer Prize winner Dexter Filkins, Condé Nast Chairman Nicholas Coleridge and acclaimed author Elizabeth Gilbert


  • Second tranche of 25 speakers announced – The Festival announced its second list of 25 speakers out of over 250 speakers expected to attend the 2020 edition. The second list featuresAnand Gopal, Anuradha Bhagwati, Arvind Krishna Mehrotra, Åsne Seierstad, Bruno Maçães, Devangana Dash, Dexter Filkins, Elizabeth Gilbert, Fintan O’Toole, Keshava Guha, Leïla Slimani, Lemn Sissay, Madhur Jaffrey, Neelum Saran Gour, Nicholas Coleridge, Parvati Sharma, Peter Frankopan, Paul Muldoon, Peter Hessler, Ravish Kumar, R.Gopalakrishnan, Roshan Ali, Shekhar Pathak, Simon Armitage and Supriya Gandhi.
  • Early Bird offers on Delegate Experience – A special early bird discount of 25% is being offered on the Festival Delegate Experience. The offer is valid until 30th November 2019.
  • Jaipur BookMark Announces iWrite – The B2B arm of the Festival, Jaipur BookMark (JBM) announced the 2nd edition of the iWrite programme for emerging writers in September 2019. Shortlisted participants will get a platform to share their work and receive constructive guidance from international publishers, literary agents, translators and other industry experts in a pitching session at Jaipur during JBM through the platform. The last date for submitting entries for iWrite 2019 is December 10, 2019.

The annual Jaipur Literature Festival announced its second list of speakers for the much-awaited 13th edition, set to take place from23-27 January 2020 at its customary picturesque home: the Diggi Palace Hotel in Jaipur. As the just-released list shows, the Festival will once again be a grand marathon of ideas between idealists, realists, visionaries, intellectuals, the avant-garde and the iconoclasts, who will engage in informed discussion and be united by an abiding love for literature.

The second list of 25 speakers include recipient of the prestigious George Polk Award Anand Gopal, author of ‘No Good Men Among the Living: America’; activist Anuradha Bhagwati, award-winning author of the critically-acclaimed book ‘Unbecoming: A Memoir of Disobedience’; noted Indian poet Arvind Krishna Mehrotra, author of ‘Blue Is Like Blue’; bestselling author Åsne Seierstad, author of 5 books based on Iraq, Afghanistan, Serbia, Chechnya and Norway; ex-Minister of European Affairs in Portugal Bruno Maçães who wrote the Financial Times Book of the Year ‘The Dawn of Eurasia’; New Delhi-based bookmaker Devangana Dash, author and illustrator of ‘The Jungle Radio: Bird Songs of India’ and veteran journalist Dexter Filkins, who received the Pulitzer for covering Afghanistan and Pakistan.

The list also includes a vastly diverse mix of journalists, activists, columnists, broadcasters and poets. The eminent names are National Book Award finalist Elizabeth Gilbert, bestselling author of ‘Eat Pray Love’, which has sold over 15 million copies worldwide; columnist Fintan O’Toole, author of seven books, including the bestselling ‘A Traitor’s Kiss’; Delhi-born authorKeshava Guha,who writes regularly on politics, literature and sports for a host of publications; novelist and activist Leïla Slimani, winner of the prestigious French literature award Prix Goncourt for her second novel, ‘Chanson douce’; poet Lemn Sissay, who has read on stage throughout the world from the Library of Congress in the United States to the University of Addis Ababa.

The list consists of celebrated people like acclaimed actress and author of several cookbooks Madhur Jaffrey, recipient of an honorary CBE and winner of the Silver Bear for Best Actress at the Berlin Film Festival; columnist Neelum Saran Gour, recipient of The Hindu Prize for Fiction 2018 for her latest novel, ‘Requiem in Raga Janki’; Editorial Director, Managing Director, President and Chairman of CondéNast and Chairman of the Victoria & Albert Museum Nicholas Coleridge, author of 14 books, including his memoir ‘The Glossy Years’.

The list continues with Indian columnist Parvati Sharma, author of the historical biography titled ‘Jahangir: An Intimate Portrait of a Great Mughal’; and of ‘The Silk Roads’, Peter Frankopan, who was named one of the World’s 50 Top Thinkers by Prospect MagazinePaul Muldoon, a former BBC radio and television producer and author of 13 collections of poetry, including ‘Moy Sand and Gravel’ for which he was awarded the 2003 Pulitzer Prize for Poetry; National Book Award finalist Peter Hessler, recipient of the Kiriyama Prize for his book ‘River Town’; well-known TV anchor and journalist, Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Awardee, recipient of the 2019 Ramon Magsaysay Award, author of ‘The Free Voice – On Democracy, Culture and The Nation’, Ravish Kumar, host of NDTV’s flagship shows: ‘Prime Time’, ‘Hum Log’ and ‘Ravish Ki Report’; author of nine books, including the bestselling ‘The Case’ R. Gopalakrishnan, who served as the Chairman of Unilever Arabia, MD of Brooke Bond Lipton, Vice Chairman of Hindustan Lever and as Director of Tata Sons.

The list also includes novelist Roshan Ali, author of ‘Ib’s Endless Search for Satisfaction’ which has been shortlisted for the 2019 Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize and the 2019 JCB Prize for Literature; Indian academician Shekhar Pathak, recipient of the Padma Shri; UK Poet Laureate Simon Armitage, who published 12 full-length collections, most recently ‘Paper Aeroplane’ and ‘Selected Poems’; and Mughal historian Supriya Gandhi, author of ‘The Emperor Who Never Was: Dara Shukoh in Mughal India’.

Namita Gokhale, writer, publisher and Co-director of the Jaipur Literature Festival, said, “The second list we have announced for January 2020 has an intriguing mix of new and established, popular and unexpected speakers. Some of our favourite writers, including Ravish Kumar, Shekhar Pathak and Arvind Krishna Mehrotra, Leila Slimeni, and Peter Frankopan, return to Jaipur. I am excited about welcoming all these wonderful authors to the Festival, and listening in to Bruno Macaes, Anuradha Bhagwati, Roshan Ali, and of course the one and only MadhurJaffrey.”

Related posts
AnnouncementEntertainmentNews & Events

Instituto Cervantes to Celebrate Iconic Spanish Film Directors with a Film Festival at the India International Centre

Instituto Cervantes is excited to unveil an exceptional film festival at the India International…
Read more
AnnouncementNews & Events

Host Announcement | Bigg Boss OTT3

ioCinema Premium Gives a Sneak Peek of Bigg Boss OTT 3, Drops Hints About the…
Read more
News & Events

The Best Diamond Moments From the 2024 Met Gala

Pictures Courtesy-Getty images ~ This year’s Met Gala witnessed some gorgeous…
Read more
Join the Family
Sign up for Davenport’s Daily Digest and get the best of Davenport, tailored for you.